Dutch++. Examples and new models for learning and teaching pluricentric languages

Multilateral project within the Lifelong Learning Programme of the European Commission


Short description

The aim of this project is to create the eLearning platform Dutch++ (written almost entirely in Dutch) which provides learners of Dutch with knowledge and skills that they need for daily linguistic practice. It targets users in the Lifelong Learning sub-programmes Erasmus, Grundtvig and Comenius. The platform will offer an integrated package of information and exercises aiming at enhancing the learners' ability to deal with 'real Dutch' in interaction.

The exercise part combines a set of repetition exercises which build on material from existing Dutch textbooks with exercises which train learners to understand Dutch spoken at normal speed and with exercises that focus on learning to cope with varieties of Dutch as they are spoken and written across the pluricentric language area: in Belgium, the Netherlands and Surinam. In addition, the platform will include an online 'guide to variation' providing information on variation within Dutch which is relevant for learners and teachers of Dutch.

Dutch++ is meant both for teachers of Dutch who can use it as additional material for regular classes and for learners of Dutch for self-study or in addition to a language course. Moreover, the platform is designed as a model for online learning material for other pluricentric languages (such as German, Portuguese or Arabic). It will serve as a prototype for how to prepare learners attending regular language classes for the daily practice in a diverse language area. The eLearning platform will be designed by experts in didactics, linguistics, eLearning and educational cooperation and it will be based on their experience with teaching Dutch as a second and foreign language to the target users.

Dutch++ will be freely accessible for all learners of Dutch. It will be promoted as a solution for additional language training in a pluricentric language at workshops and conferences and through online networks, both for Dutch and for language learning and teaching in general.


Partners

The coordinating partner of Dutch++ is the Dutch department of the university of Vienna (Austria). The other partners in the project are the Language Center at Tilburg University (the Netherlands), the Departement Mens en Maatschappij, Onderwijs at Thomas More (previously Katholieke Hogeschool Kempen in Geel, Belgium) and the department of Dutch philology at the Freie Universität Berlin. During the first project year (2012), the Instituut voor de Opleiding van Leraren (IOL) in Paramaribo (Surinam) was a Third Country Partner in Dutch++.


FU team


Website

Please note that the Dutch++ website is currently under construction. You can have a look at our work in progress here: https://dutch-beta.ned.univie.ac.at/. The website will be ready by the end of 2014.


Project-related publications

Diepeveen, Janneke & Matthias Hüning (2013). Tussentaal als onderwerp van (vreemdetalen)onderwijs. Een buitenlands perspectief. Ons Erfdeel 4, 82-89. [Open Access version]

Dutch++. Examples and new models for learning and teaching pluricentric languages

Multilaterales Projekt gefördert vom Lifelong Learning Programme der Europäischen Kommission


Kurzbeschreibung

logo Dutch++

Ziel dieses Projekts ist es, die niederländischsprachige E-Learningplattform Dutch++ für Niederländischlernende zu entwickeln. Konkret werden Wissen und Fähigkeiten in Zusammenhang mit dem alltäglichen Sprachgebrauch des Niederländischen vermittelt. Die Zielgruppe umfassen u.A. die User der Programme Erasmus, Grundtvig und Comenius. Die E-Learningplattform wird ein integriertes Paket von Übungen und Informationen bilden, wodurch Lernende das 'reale' Niederländisch kennenlernen.

Der Abschnitt 'Übungen' beinhaltet einerseits Wiederholungsübungen, die auf bereits existierende Lehrbücher basieren. Ziel der Übungen ist es, Lernende mit gesprochenem Niederländisch in einer normalen Sprechgeschwindigkeit vertraut zu machen. Andererseits werden Übungen zur sprachlichen Variation des Niederländischen angeboten, durch die die Lernenden unterschiedliche Varietäten des Niederländischen kennenlernen. Insbesondere wird das Niederländische als plurizentrische Sprache mit verschiedenen Realisierungen der Standardsprache in Belgien, Niederlande und Surinam dargestellt. Desweiteren umfasst Dutch++ ein Onlinehandbuch zur sprachlichen Variation im Niederländischen, mit dem nicht nur Lernende sondern auch Lehrende arbeiten werden können.

Dutch++ zielt auf Sprachdozenten, die auf der Webseite zusätzliche Lehrmaterialien finden werden, sowie auf Studierende, die ihre Sprachkenntnisse selbstständig erweitern wollen. Außerdem möchte die E-Learningplattform ein Modell dafür sein, wie online Lehrmaterialien für andere plurizentrischen Sprachen (wie Deutsch, Portugiesisch und Arabisch) aussehen könnten. Dutch++ dient somit als Beispiel dafür, wie man Lernende, die bereits Sprachkurse besuchen, zusätzlich auf die alltägliche Sprachpraxis in einem diversen Sprachgebiet vorbereiten kann. Die E-Learningplattform wird entwickelt von Spezialisten in den Bereichen Didaktik, Linguistik und E-Learning, die bereits Erfahrung mit der internationalen Zusammenarbeit im Sprachunterricht gemacht haben und jeweils erfahrene Niederländischdozenten (sowohl als Zweit- als auch als Fremdsprache) sind.

Dutch++ wird für alle Nutzer frei zugänglich sein. Das Projekt werden wir auf Tagungen, Konferenzen und in Online-Netzwerken für Niederländisch und für den Sprachunterricht Niederländisch vorstellen.


Projektpartner

Dutch++ wird koordiniert von der Abteilung für Nederlandistik der Universität Wien. Sonstige Projektpartner sind das Language Center der Tilburg University (Niederlande); die Abteilung "Mens en Maatschappij, Onderwijs" der Thomas More (ehemalige Katholieke Hogeschool Kempen in Geel, Belgien) und die Niederländische Philologie der Freien Universität Berlin. Im ersten Projektjahr (2012) war das Instituut voor de Opleiding van Leraren (IOL) in Paramaribo (Surinam) als Third Country Partner mit Dutch++ verbunden.


FU team


Website

https://dutchplusplus.ned.univie.ac.at/


Veröffentlichungen zum Thema

Diepeveen, Janneke & Matthias Hüning (2013). Tussentaal als onderwerp van (vreemdetalen)onderwijs. Een buitenlands perspectief. Ons Erfdeel 4, 82-89. [Open Access version]

Hüning, Matthias (2013). Standardsprachenideologie. Über Sprache als Mittel zur Ab- und Ausgrenzung. In: Emmeline Besamusca, Christine Hermann & Ulrike Vogl (ed.), Out of the Box: Über den Wert des Grenzwertigen, 105–122. Wien: Praesens Verlag. [pdf]

Diepeveen, Janneke & Matthias Hüning (in Vorbereitung). The status of Dutch in post-colonial Suriname.